A blog without a theme: What’s new

“I just can’t do what I done before
I just can’t beg you anymore
I’m gonna let you pass
And I’ll go last
Then time will tell just who fell
And who’s been left behind
When you go your way and I go mine.” – Bob Dylan

Life is winding down.  There’s not too much going on Peace Corps related in my life.  At the office I’ve become the old dog that no one wants to put to sleep and is just waiting to die.  Everyone’s received communion at mass and we’re just waiting for the announcements so we can storm to our cars and get some French toast and coffee and get home in time to catch the second half of the Vikings game. The Twins are up 8-2 in the top of the ninth, but you can’t leave yet in anticipation of a great defensive play you’d be upset about if you missed.

I have been away from my site a lot lately and will be even more in the coming weeks.  Here’s what’s been happening and what will.

The GRE
The GRE is the SAT for graduate schools.  It’s just another completely bullshit standardized test, but unfortunately necessary for most graduate school applications.  I took it in case I decide to apply.  I’m not even sure if I’m going to, but thought I’d get it out of the way.  I took it a few weeks ago in Bangkok.  Like all tests in the past, I was the first one done and I did okay.

Parents week
Last week I made the trip to Roi Et to visit Erin and her mom.  After a few nights I went back south to Christine’s site to visit her mom and dad.  I was enjoying my time in Ratanaburi, Surin, when a cold crept up on me and I got out of there a day early afraid of infecting the Duffys.  Thankfully there was a fun (long) weekend with Sonya ahead of me.

This week at site
I will be at my site this week.  There’s not much to report.  I’ll likely go into the office in the mornings to check news and e-mails and funny cat videos on Youtube.  At home I’ll be doing the usual chores while doing my best to make some headway on my book list.  I’ve also been keeping up with a regular jogging routine I hope to keep up.

Next week: Kanchanaburi
I have 18 vacation days to use by Dec. 20.  I’m a volunteer.  I won’t get reimbursed for the days I don’t use and there are still parts of Thailand I want to see.  Next week I plan to meet my fellow Minnesotan Mark in Bangkok and then make our way to Kanchanaburi (about two hours west).  Mark lives in the southern-most province volunteers are allowed.  We only see each other during Peace Corps related events, but have managed to talk on a weekly basis for the last two years.

Two weeks: Close-of-service conference
The Peace Corps will not only be giving us a head start on how to adjust to life back in the U.S., but they’re doing it in style.  We’ll be staying at a beach-side hotel in Petchaburi after enjoying a Thanksgiving dinner at the home of the U.S. Ambassador to Thailand. It will mark the last time all the volunteers from group 123 will be together. It’s sure to be an emotional and interesting time.  I also plan to see Skyfall in Bangkok.

Three weeks: The South
I have yet to venture south of Bangkok and I will finally be going to hit the tourist areas of Southern Thailand with Joe after the conference.  We’re still not sure exactly where we’ll be going, but there will be beaches and beers involved.

By the time I’m back to my computer and online, it will likely be December, Christmas season in America (just caught an online Kay’s Jewelers ad online and almost threw up) and I’ll likely be low on baht.

I’ll leave you with a movie scene I’ve been showing the Thais as an example of what happens to Americans when we eat spicy food.

One thought on “A blog without a theme: What’s new

  1. Jeff– I am part f Peace Corps Thailand group 125, arriving in January. I have very much enjoyed reading your blogs as well as all of Erin’s. Thank you so much for your perspective. I think that between the two of you, I have a fairly good idea of what I’m getting into. I wish I had your job, but instead I’ll be doing Erin’s. Yours sounds much more fun, though, Just saying. Enjoy your travels.

Leave a Reply

